Fr 21.09.2018

UCI Women’s Team Time Trial riders confirmed

© Bettini Photo

With the 2018 UCI Road World Championships starting this weekend, the riders for the UCI Women’s Team Time Trial (TTT) event have been announced. The final running of the Team Time Trial will boast a strong line-up of the world’s leading women cyclists.

Defending champions and winners of the TTT stage of last weekend’s Madrid Challenge at La Vuelta, Team Sunweb’s stars include National Individual Time Trial (ITT) champions Ellen van Dijk (NL) who will lead the team, and Leah Kirchmann (CAN).
While Team Sunweb could be considered favourites for the title, they are sure to be pushed all the way by strong teams from Mitchelton-Scott, Canyon//SRAM Racing and Boels Dolmans Cycling Team.
Indeed, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team contains the Netherlands’ ITT runner-up, and prolific 2017 UCI Women’s WorldTour winner Anna van der Breggen, the 2017 UCI Road World Champion Chantal Blaak (NL), Danish National Road Race champion and formal UCI Road World Champion Amalie Dideriksen and the USA’s Megan Guarnier, winner of the Giro Rosa and UCI Women’s WorldTour in 2016, who is retiring after these UCI Road World Championships.
Canyon//SRAM Racing boasts a host of international talent, including the UK’s Alice and Hannah Barnes, Italy’s Elena Cecchini, Poland’s Katarzyna Niewiadoma, winner of the Best Young Classification of the UCI Women’s WorldTour in 2016 and German powerhouse Trixi Worrack.
Likewise, even without this year’s Giro Rosa and formal UCI Individual Time Trial Champion Annemiek van Vleuten, the Mitchelton-Scott team, with multiple Belgian national champion Jolien D’Hoore and Australia’s Amanda Spratt and Jessica Allen, will be considered serious contenders.
The Women’s TTT will take place on Sunday 23 September, starting at 10.10am (CET) from Ötztal AREA 47, finishing in Innsbruck Rennweg, with the last team due to finish the 54km route at approximately 12.05pm. 

Zurück zur Übersicht